The controversy of the diversity and Division offense

  • This is an unfinished blog and will be continued later

 

There is a big problem that I have witnessed within the Black community, as well as other marginalized communities.

That problem is people who do not accept and are vehemently against recognizing  the diversity and division of feelings of offense.

So what is that exactly?

Everyone is not offended by the same things, even within the same marginalized group.

However, I have noticed that there is an expectation and pressured requirement by people outside communities as well as within communities, for a group of people to be offended by the same things.

To a degree this makes historical sense, such as words like the N-word being considered generally offensive to most Black people.

However, there are many things that affect communities that are not agreed upon as offensive to all.

Because we are individuals that come from different backgrounds, religions, cultures, economic status, and experience,s it makes sense for us not to be offended by all of the same things.

What DOES annoy me however is that there is a pressure and a push and a shaming people who disagree with the majority offense.

and are not offended by what some others are offended by. Offense is personal and as one friend told me we choose to be offended by what we are told to be offended by. This does not mean that there’s no such thing as offense but what it does mean is as a baby born to a new world if the N word is said to you you do not know what it means it is an empty vocabulary word because you have had no negative experiences to give the word meaning yet. Also context and usage play a part in What words mean to us such as an abusive home that beats a child every time they tell them that they love them. For that child the word love will become triggering and abusive even though the word love is not supposed to mean that. There are several things that I have witnessed the black community specifically complain about that do not bother me but while I respect their feelings I do not feel that my feelings are respected or that I have a space to voice how I feel because if I am not offended just like they are then that is considered wrong. When people are hurt I understand the desire to Rally up support and validation for once hurt feelings and there’s no crime in that emotion but there is a crime in trying to insist that someone feel a way that they do not feel and there is a crime in saying that someone is unloyal or untrue if they do not feel a certain way. I have met black people who are not offended by the use of the n-word by non-black people. I have that black people who have white friends or Asian friends or Latino friends and because they are close friends they are comfortable with them using the word with them however they would take issue with a stranger used the word with them. it makes sense for us not to be offended by all of the same things. What does annoy me is that there is a pressure and a push and a shame Ming of people who disagree and are not offended by what some others are offended by. Defense is personal and as one friend told me we choose to be offended by what we are told to be offended by. This does not mean that there’s no such thing as offense but what it does mean is as a baby born to a new world if the N word is said to you you do not know what it means it is an empty vocabulary word because you have had no negative experiences to give the word meaning yet. Also context and usage play a part in what words mean to us such as an abusive home that beats a child every time they tell them that they love them. For that child the word love will become triggering and abusive even though the word love is not supposed to mean that. There are several things that I have witnessed the black community specifically complain about that do not bother me but wow I respect their feelings I do not feel that my feelings or respected or the I have a space to voice how I feel because if I am not offended just like they are then that is considered wrong. When people are hurt I understand the desire to rally up support and validation for once hurt feelings and there’s no cry I’m in that emotion but there is a crime in tried to insist that someone feel a way that they do not feel and there is a crime in saying that someone is on loyal or untrue if they do not feel a certain way. I have met black people who are not offended by the use of the N word buy non black people. I have that black people who have white friends or Asian friends or Latino friends and because they are close friends they are comfortable with them using the word with them however they would take issue if a stranger used the word with them. It is true that in my experience this has been in a great minority of numbers and to my knowledge I have only met perhaps a handful maybe less than 5 people who I know that are comfortable with this. In general most the black people I meet those who do not agree. another area in which I disagree is that of cultural appropriation and some aspects of it. When it comes to hair styles it does not offend me when I see people who are non black wearing braids or dreadlocks. I have never cared much about hairstyles to me they are just hairstyles and even though yes I know it’s that they are ethnic originally it doesn’t irritate me to see someone wearing that hairstyle. also as a cosplayer their issues of black face within cosplay and I’m not going to say that black face does not offend me of course if a white person for example paints their skin dark brown yes that’s obviously wrong and very reminiscent of minstrel history which was purposely done to block black people but but was unintentional such as someone who is mentally or light-skinned and perhaps even black themselves but has gotten quite a tan naturally in the summer and is accused of blackfacing due to a tan. Tumi black facing is simply unnecessary and I don’t understand why it occurs to people to darken their skin for character accuracy but it’s not needed and people will recognize people whether they darken their skin or not. another area in which I disagree is there is a stereotype that black women are terribly offended when they see a black man in an interracial relationship with a white woman. When when I see an interracial couple I not only do not get angered by that but I am happy to see two people who are able to be together in the face of such adversity. Do not know The background story of how this couple got together and I am aware of some of the valid reasons why people are angered by interracial relationships due to insincere intentions fetishizing and downgrading of black women but because I do not know if that’s the reason they got together in the first place it is not my place to judge that couple that I do not know. I have found that these are unpopular opinions and usually unwelcome and some black spaces and I think it’s a very important to respect and listen to all perspectives spoken within safe spaces because our voices are rarely respected in outside white spaces so if we don’t respect safe space for our black brothers and sisters then we will feel isolated alone and shut down. People fail to understand what true Unity is. you need this not me to mean that every single person agrees and sees things the same way and believes the same thing and lives the same lifestyle and I get irritated anytime it is pressured upon minority buy an imaginary disciplinary Committee of our racial group. in truth there is no black Council but it certainly feels like there is any time an unpopular opinion is voice because very quickly there will be people to shut you down and tell you that you are a fool for not agreeing with the majority. my personal definition of what a true Uncle Tom is is someone who is so subservient that they do not think for themselves and if someone is a true free thinker they will not submit to defending themselves under a monolithic way of thinking simply because the majority of their race feels that way. Furthermore black people are more than African Americans. African Americans are only one cultural and National group of black people therefore the perspectives are extremely diverse within the diaspora. Africans are diverse Caribbeans are diverse patients and trinidadians and Nigerians and Guardians and Aboriginal Australians and black Brazilians and afro Latinos all have varying perspectives and opinions to bring to the table and do count as being part of the black community. there is not a single solo black experience or black opinion or black perspective or black background or black offense. Some people will be offended by certain things and some people will not be and some people will be offended by certain things within specific circumstances. If one outside of the community wants to be sensitive and aware then be aware of these truths and do not State generalizations that entire groups are offended by the same thing because they are not.

Leave a Reply

