When Things Weren’t So Complicated…

Why is honoring and respecting someone’s humanity and human rights considered a “progressive” attitude?

I understand that it hasn’t been the standard in the past, but can’t we now in today’s life make that so?

Why is being a bleeding heart liberal or a social justice warrior seen as an insult or a bad thing?

Granted I am aware that any group has it’s extremists and extreme liberalism or SJW missions can have many detrimental negatives and turn into bullying and ostracizing.

But I think what sucks the most is thinking back to when I was child, when things were so much simpler and carefree.

Having access the the internet and being bombarded with a constant influx of opinions and stances and information including false information is overwhelming and depressing.

There is so much pressure to be “woke” especially as Black person, but there is a great price to being constantly “aware” and up to date on everything that is going on.

It can create a sense of hopelessness, mistrust, paranoia, fear and anger that becomes a perpetual state of mood. It’s not healthy to feel that way all the time or constantly be expose to that.

There are certain videos that I don’t watch because I do not want to be traumatized or triggered. My mental and emotional health is too precious to me to do that.

I don’t think we should be pressuring each other to watch every single video that comes out of police brutality or racial hate crimes because some people cannot handle that.

I feel the same way about slavery or segregation films. Everyone has their own trauma limit and we shouldn’t obligate people to over expose themselves to scenes that are triggering for them.

It is important that we remember that we are human beings first and foremost before our societal labels, and it think there is an unhealthy expectation for Black people to be able to handle more pain then other people because of what we endure on a daily basis.

Some of us do not see these movies or visuals as catharsis but rather an ugly reminder that we would like to escape. Everyone deals with racism differently. I prefer escapism and I do not care to bathe my mind in the ugliness that is racism. It doesn’t mean that I am in denial or unaware, but it means that, if I have a choice in what I view and how I spend my time, for the most part, I only dedicate a limited amount of time to exposure to that content for health reasons.

That’s why I appreciate the #CareFreeBlackGirl hashtag because I fully believe in taking time out to regroup, heal and spiritually cleanse oneself. I believe in the existence and promotion of care free attitudes among Black people because caring all the time and hurting all the time are unhealthy. We can live happily despite and in spite of racism. Of course I have privileges that others do not so perhaps it is easy for me to say that statement, but happiness is a choice and it’s something wonderful and necessary that I want for my Black brothers and sisters who do not have it.

There may be push back about being carefree because if you live in a war zone environment, a care free attitude can get you killed. If you have been raised by parents and or grandparents who lived in a war zone time, they may discourage that attitude and claim that one does not have the luxury to relax or enjoy “distractions.”

However aren’t we wasting the gift of a better future that our ancestors fought for if we are constantly stressed out, weary and traumatized by race issues? Isn’t it our right to fight for the space to be happy, to enjoy life, to live safely and not have to look over our soldier or second guess our friendships?

There are Blacktivists who have had mental breakdowns and committed suicide due to improper care of mental and emotional health. There is such a thing as sacrificing too much to the cause.

We have to be selfish sometimes and think of ourselves sometimes over the community. We matter, not they matter over oneself.

One is no good to anyone else dead or dying from mental and emotional trauma and pain.

One better serves their community by being at their best.

One of the reasons I don’t attend #BlackLivesMatter rallies and protests is because I know that emotionally I can’t handle it. I would have a public breakdown, because the issue means so much to me, and the injustice hurts so much, I know that I would become overwhelmed with emotion, and I would be no help to anyone falling apart. I support them in other capacities and protesting physically alongside someone is not the only way of displaying support.

People are too judgmental about activist “obligations.” I can’t go to every protest for every cause that I stand for. That would be impossible. I have to support myself by working and earning a living. I cannot simply drop everything and protest.

I’m not going to make a generalizing statement and say that all protests are unproductive, some do provide great results, but some are unproductive and redundant and fizzle out with no clear direction or objective goals.

So with that being said, I don’t even fully believe in attending every rally or protest that I support. Not only that, there are broad causes that have a myriad of various opinions with which I may agree with or not agree with and some that I do not agree with may cross the line for me stating that I support the cause in a broad sense.

For example when it comes to Feminism, I have mixed feelings about the slut shaming vs. pro-hoe communities.

I am pro-choice but I am not pro-abortion and there is a difference between the two. I do not encourage abortion, I feel that it should be an absolute last resort, except in the case of rape or possible death of the mother including some other varied circumstances.

I watched the Women’s March protest/rally in Washington D.C. on television and some parts of it I agreed with and others I did not.

So would I attend based on my support of Feminism in general or refuse to go due to the few issues I may disagree with. For me unless I disagree with more than half of the issues displayed, I show support.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

